Plans A & B and a New Box

Standard

Hello, friends. And sorry for the delay. . .

What is going on with the Woolley-Monster? (As my Afrikaaner friend Elizabeth calls me). Well! As it stands now, I have one week until my support goal date of April 26th. Less than one week. Hee hee. By that date, I would like to be at a certain percentage level of support in order to buy two plane tickets- one to South Africa, and one to Rwanda. I am trying to attend a week-long conference in Rwanda called “Amahoro” (see “Amahoro Africa” in sidebar) that starts May 19th. In order to make it to South Africa in time to recover from jet-lag, drop off my bags, say hello to the community of NCSA 2008, and get on a plane to Kigali, I would like to leave the U.S. no later than May 14th, preferably before that. This is my first choice and what I’m trying for, but if it doesn’t work out. . . I’ve grieved over worse things before. I’m flexible and ultimately want to be obedient to God’s timing, so we’ll see how it goes.

Why Amahoro? There are a few reasons why I’d like to attend this conference called Amahoro- a general African term for “peace.” Firstly, it fits very well with my personal vision statement (click in sidebar to read more) of helping to tell the stories of the disadvantaged, the broken, the disheartened. I attended a week-long trip to Kigali last November- at the very end of our NCSA year- and it was quite transformational. For those of you who don’t know, Rwanda underwent a horrific genocide in 1994. Within the span of 100 days, as many as one million people were slaughtered. I have had a heart for Rwanda and her people for a few years now, and getting to visit it last year was a dream fulfilled by God. We visited churches doing amazing healing and spiritual transformation work, as well as some projects (see www.reach-rwanda.org) doing some serious reconciliation work. We also visited genocide memorials and got to hear many testimonies of former victims and perpetrators alike. “Amahoro” will also be addressing issues such as reconciliation and peace throughout all of Africa, as well as uniting leaders in the church as they seek what it means to be the church in a post-colonial Africa. I hope that one day I might be able to help tell some of the stories of Rwandans, and know I will get to reconnect with many whom I met the last time I was there, so that is promising. Two apprentices from NieuCommunities South Africa will also be going, and I hope to bond with them through the experience too before we head back to Pretoria to continue the apprenticeship.

Like I said, that is Plan A, and if it doesn’t happen, there are always other opportunities! I am extremely excited to be returning to South Africa regardless. Plan B would be to finish raising my support and return to South Africa by the end of May. As most of you know, I am joining the staff of NieuCommunities in Pretoria for at least the next two years, and am busy raising support for my time there. I will be helping to apprentice the new people coming through the apprenticeship as well as continuing my own ministry (with co-staff Barbara) of telling the stories of South African women. God has called me into this position and I don’t know exactly where it is leading me but I know it’s very very Good. I heard God say to me at the end of my apprenticeship year, “Sarah, I want to give you a new box.” And while I don’t know what’s in the box exactly yet, there is no doubt to me that it’s some exciting and awesome stuff.

So please stay tuned and I hope to update this at least one more time before I head back to South Africa- at least to let you know about whether I’m going to Rwanda or not! Please pray for courage, health, wisdom, stamina, and faith as I trust in God’s provision these next few weeks, share about my ministry vision, say goodbyes, attempt closure around some things, and prepare to travel- well, to move my life to Africa. Call me (503) 789-8971 if you want to chat, hear more, or get together. You could email me too: skwoolley.girl@gmail.com. Please look at the new things I’ve updated in my sidebar. “Keep well” as we say in South Africa, and I’ll be in touch. . .

One response »

  1. hey sarah! thanks for the great update! you will be in my prayers and I hope you make it here in time for Plan A to work out! i look forward to meeting you!

Leave a comment